Boredom & Finding Motivation

i haven’t written anything here (or anywhere else) in a long time. I wish I could say that it’s because I completely straightened my house and got it just the way I want it, or that I found a better hobby. Or perhaps anything other excuse than… I’m lazy.

It’s something that I’ve felt I needed to do, this personal evaluation. I have a very cluttered mind and I take a lot of joy in just sitting around and doing nothing at all. But I need to learn to channel these thoughts into something more productive:

1. One day a week, I’m going to paint something. I don’t know if it will be on canvas or a brick wall (most likely not), but I’m going to do some kind of art, because it brings me a lot of joy. I’m not a great painter, or illustrator, but with practice I can do OK.

2. One day a week, I’m going to sit in as much silence as I can and learn to meditate. Because… I need to. Disconnecting forces you to be more creative and productive, because you stop consuming so much. When all you do is consume, you don’t create.

3. One day a week, I’m going to save money. I used to be a big spender, a professional window shopper. The older you get, the more of your paycheck starts to leave you faster, and there doesn’t seem to be much you can do about it. So now I am going to get back to some “professional” saving, and one of my favorite quotes is “the fastest way to double your money is to fold it over and put it back in your wallet.”

Goals. Declarations. Derelict rantings. Whatever you choose to read the above as, just know that I hope to follow goals here. I may not get to all of them, but I’ll settle for at least one.

AND- I still love minimalism, I’ve just had to adapt my wild and crazy dreams of it into reality. My wife, whom I love with all my heart, is not a minimalist. So I have to navigate through her way of living, and she gets to try to understand my sometimes insane desire to get rid of perfectly good furniture so I can try sitting  on the floor.

I love minimalism. I love for things to be simple, and incredibly organized. What I thought would be a two month cleanup is now going to be the rest of my life, but that’s OK.

Obviously I need something to do.

2 thoughts on “Boredom & Finding Motivation

Leave a Reply

