Apple Trees and Patience

Five years ago I planted two apple trees, a McIntosh and Granny Smith. When they went into the ground, I gave them the best start I knew how, with a good soil blend and plenty of care. I placed them in the yard surrounding a patio I wanted to set in; I imagined they would provide shade and also it would be great to just walk over and grab some fruit.

Year after year, I watched my apple trees, and nothing happened. They didn’t flower, produce fruit, or even grow much at all. I watered them and gave them fertilizer, but still, nothing. Even if they weren’t producing fruit, I was still utterly confused at how they weren’t even growing much at all. After five years they should have at least grew a few feet taller and wider.

By the end of last year I had just about given up on the two trees. If they weren’t going to give fruit, or even grow, then I was going to dig them up and replace them with some better quality trees.

On Sunday morning as I took my dogs out, I happened to look over and see that the McIntosh tree was done flowering… and full of fruit!

McIntosh-Apple-Tree

Seeing the small, but growing fruit on the tree made me feel incredibly happy. I had been patient, and then I had given up, but somehow the tree still came through.  I had a moment of clarity and excitement.  I realized that the tree wasn’t the problem, I was. I needed to be more patient and understand that things are actually out of my control. I can help the tree, but ultimately, this tree is growing and surviving in the world just as I am.

This tree and I will share the same space for as long as I live there, and although I will help it out with water and extra nutrients, it’s doing OK on it’s own. It just needed some time.

One thought on “Apple Trees and Patience

Leave a Reply

