Better Living in 2013

I think I can overcome anything. Well, that’s what I tell myself anyway. I’m trying to start 2013 with a better budget, a healthier lifestyle and an even better attitude. Here are some goals for 2013:

1. Think about how much time you waste. Sometimes it’s OK to just sit around and do nothing, but how much is too much? Yes, TV/movie watching is included here. I spend way too much of my time in front of the TV, so my goal for 2013 is to limit that time and maybe even get it down to about 5 hours a week. I could live with that.

2. Correct the bad habits and move on. You know, I haven’t done as well with my goals of sweeping and cleaning all the time as I’d like to. But, I do drink less now and am well on my way to an alcohol-reduced/free life. So instead of feeling bad about my slackness, I’m going to count my victories and just move forward.

3. Stop living in the past, it’s too costly. There’s nothing wrong with memories and being nostalgic, but if you dwell entirely too much on the past and all the good times you had, you’ll miss out on a lot of great experiences in the present!

I am extremely guilty of this. I let my mind be overwhelmed with past experiences, then lament at the reality that those experiences are gone and will never come back. Well, that’s life. As you get older, there is only going to be less “new” in the world, so make the best of it!

4. You know, your life is pretty amazing. Hopefully I can say this without sounding like I’m high, but have you ever just stopped and thought about everything your body does? Your cells repair, your liver regenerates, your heart is pumping blood constantly… every breath you take keeps you alive.

And how do we treat ourselves? We eat terrible food. We smoke and drink. We sit for hours and hours doing nothing. We complain about how hard our lives are. Whether you believe in God or science, you can’t deny the amazing complexity of living organisms on this planet.

It’s no secret that we have a limited time to live, and we have incredible amounts of opportunity to experience the world and make it better, or waste it.

Leave a Reply

