O Furniture, Where Art Thou?

One of the downsides of decluttering is that sometimes you get rid of too much. Currently, I’m really missing our dining room table.

We sold the table back in April in a yard sale, for about a third of what we originally paid for it. It was a large, country style table that could seat eight people comfortably, but we really only used it for storage. So it was a very cluttered space.

Now, six months later, I have nowhere to put my groceries (at least not easily) when I walk in the house. I often resort to just placing the bags on the ground if the few surfaces left in our dining room are full.

I’ve been wondering if we made the right decision to get rid of the kitchen table. I certainly do not want to replace it with the same size table, but I’m thinking that we do need a table in the dining room. Here are my pros and cons for both:

Pros:
1. A table would give us a good surface to use for groceries, kitchen duties, and eating (do people still eat at tables?)

2. It would also be good for temporary projects other than food, like crafts or sewing.

Cons:
1. A table takes up space. I’ve gotten used to not having bulky furniture in the dining room, and it’s kind of inspiration for the rest of the house.

2. There’s a strong possibility that the table’s surface would just stay cluttered with junk instead of being used properly.

3. I will have to spend money to be the right size table & chairs that we want. Not super expensive, but still an expense that isn’t necessary.

Well, it’s three to one, although the last con isn’t terribly important. I’m sure we could find a very cheap set just like the one we sold.

What I worry most about is cluttering the table surface; it seems inevitable. As hard as I try, it’s very difficult for me to keep a surface clear and free of junk. That’s one of the main reasons I got rid of the last table.

What about you? Do you have a hard time with clear table surfaces?

4 thoughts on “O Furniture, Where Art Thou?

  1. Joanna @ I Won't Be a Hoarder Too says:

    I’m impressed that you’ve gotten rid of the dining room table! Where do you guys eat now?

    I have a terrible time with table surfaces. We have my husband’s parents’ kitchen table. It’s huge with room for six and it’s just a magnet for junk. I want to find a drop-leaf table on craigslist that will take up little space when we’re not using it but can expand to be a full table at each meal. Might one of these type work for you?

    http://www.cymax.com/Steve-Silver-Branson-Double-Drop-Leaf-Table-in-Espresso-BR200TE.htm?Src=PLA&SrcID=5238672&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=379788&gclid=CJeD1ZKql7MCFcXb4AodqnEAoA

    But my husband likes his huge furniture, so I don’t think I’m going to win that argument.

Leave a Reply

