One Less Burden…

When something is bothering you, you can only ignore it for so long. For me, it was my daily habit of getting a medium coffee, complete with paper cup, plastic lid, and cardboard sleeve.

No, the coffee wasn’t the problem, it was that I was contributing to landfill waste when I should have been carrying a reusable travel mug. Even though I don’t want to think about how many of those cups I threw out, I have to. It’s the only way to move forward and not just ignore a problem.

I was getting five coffees per week, all in the paper cups. For a year, that adds up to 260 cups! Over the course of five years, that’s 1,300 cups thrown away.

So a few weeks ago, I started carrying a travel mug (which I scored free from work!) with me and eliminating my wasting of paper cups and everything that went with them. The mug is great; since I don’t use sugar or cream in my coffee it’s really easy to clean. I just rinse it out and give it a full scrub when needed.

I’m really happy with this minor change that has a major impact, and I’m not contributing to unnecessary landfill waste.

It’s one less thing for me to not feel burdened by, and isn’t that what we’re all seeking, one less burden?

5 thoughts on “One Less Burden…

  1. Joanna @ I Won't Be a Hoarder Too says:

    I go through two cups of yogurt a day and a one-liter bottle of seltzer. That’s over 700 yogurt cups and 365 seltzer bottles. The yogurt is $1.00 a day and the soda water is .69 a day. That’s over $1000 a year on soda water and yogurt! No wonder I have trouble saving money! Thanks for inspiring me to get a yogurt maker. It’s going to be worth it in so many ways.

    • Free Your Mind Today says:

      It adds up, doesn’t it?! I used to love good greek yogurt, so my cups runneth over… the recycling bins that is. But since I stopped eating dairy the yogurt cups are gone. I think making your own yogurt is pretty easy- but let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

