Reclaiming My Life (Part 2)

In my previous post I wrote about my back injury, and how it resulted in a few setbacks in my life. 99% of my problems were self-inflicted (which I understand now), so I’m trying to examine the past and learn from it.

I stopped working out and became lazy.

I don’t know if it’s our modern lifestyle that causes us to take the  easy way whenever possible, or just instinct. If there’s an excuse to not do something, we will find it.

My back pain was so horrible some days all I felt that I could do was just lay around. I mentioned previously that I turned to alcohol to medicate and soothe the problem.

When you don’t work out and drink a lot, you get something called weight gain. But after about six months the back pain had almost gone completely away, yet I continued to drink heavily because I liked it and was addicted.

I stopped striving to do better in my life.

My job situation was great for a while. I liked what I was doing, and I was moving up in the company (or so I thought).

In 2009 I was given the option of taking over my old job (while keeping my new job duties) or having no job at all. So basically, I felt as though I was being put back down the ladder.

And that made me drink… even more. The stress and anxiety of doing the work of two people was hard, so every night had to become a party to relieve the stress of the day. Can you imagine how vicious that cycle is?

In 2009, I wasn’t trying at all. I was in an incredible slump that I just didn’t know how I would get out of. Thankfully, I didn’t lose my job, but I wasn’t happy either.

I also went shopping to forget my problems. For those of you who don’t know, buying”stuff” does not make you happy. You can shop and shop all you want, but it doesn’t do anything for you in the long term other than drain your bank account.

Then… I’d had enough

By the middle of 2010 I was about to turn 31 and I realized that I was really unhappy with myself. I was letting myself go and it was my own fault!

I started looking at gyms, but they were too expensive or smelled terrible. After watching a show about running, I decided to lace up some shoes and go outside. Within a year I was running 4 miles, five days a week! My new found fitness helped me to quit other bad habits and to eat a little better.

Running has helped shape me in more ways than just improving my health; it clears my head. Being fit makes you more confident in your life, it gives you an edge in life. I get sad watching the people who go on yo-yo diets and only get motivated to exercise when January 1st comes around.

Even though I’ve come a long way from two years ago, I still have a long way to go. I’m not as fit as I want to be; I still drink too much sometimes. But I know I can accomplish my goals.

I know now that life is a mental game. If your brain is cluttered with junk, other aspects of your life will be too! My priority is to keep my mind straight and clear, because if that’s in control, I’m in control.

3 thoughts on “Reclaiming My Life (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

