Birthday Celebrations

Yesterday was my 33rd birthday. I had written a post and then realized halfway through that it was an almost incoherent mess that I couldn’t subject anyone to.

I didn’t do any great reflecting on the last 32 of years of my life; I’ve already been through that. I did that a couple of years ago as I got my life and priorities in order.

What I was reminded of was how much love surrounds me. My parents and wife took me out to dinner, and all day I had “happy birthday” messages from friends and family.

It had nothing to do with big extravagant parties or gifts, it was just a simple day with family that was exactly what I wanted. As a bonus, the restaurant was donating 10% of dinner proceeds to animal rescue, which is something that’s important to me.

Sometimes we (I) let the pressures of the world burden us, and we lose track of what should be the focus of our lives. I love spending time with my wife, my family, and volunteering in my community.

These things all give me more satisfaction than any amount of money ever could. So after today, I’m going to start a ritual for myself of some sort, where I spend five or 10 minutes reflecting on all that’s good in my life, instead of what I want to improve.

Do you have a time of day that you use for reflection and thought? Do you sit in your favorite chair or drink tea? I’m open to suggestions!

4 thoughts on “Birthday Celebrations

  1. shair says:

    Last moments before I fall asleep I try to pinpoint the very best moment of my day. Even the crappiest of days have a best moment, and finding and topping that moment happens all day long if I think about and reflect on it before I fall asleep. When I woke up today, the best part of my day was the fresh soap in the bathroom, but as of now I have beaten it out with cooperative kids helping with chores and then with framing a new painting. Maybe I won’t top that one today, but I have all day to try! Then before I fall asleep, I will think back and make sure I find the best part.

    I always appreciate how mindful you are about living and enjoying your life. I am glad you had a great birthday.

  2. theillustriousmissindustrious says:

    Happy belated birthday! A quiet birthday without extravagant parties and gifts sounds enjoyable. It sounds to me as if your focus (and your loved ones’) was in the right place that day.

    As for reflection… I find I have the most clarity in the dead of night or just as the first few rays of sunlight peek over the horizon. Normally, I make my morning coffee and either reflect on what I have done up to that moment, or how I will shape future moments. Nothing compares to those quiet, contemplative moments.

    Also… aren’t most of our first drafts jumbled, incoherent messes? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

