Self Esteem

It’s difficult to keep a positive attitude all the time. I’ve found that out recently, as I’ve had to deal with some things and people in my life that have been quite challenging.

But sometimes, things get beyond your control. Sometimes, people just push you too far. Lately, I’ve had to deal with some things that really lowered my self-esteem, and made me feel pretty low.

It hasn’t broken me. Do you know why?

1. My issues are not actual problems. Around the world, right now, there are thousands of people every day that face real problems. Hunger. War. Disease. I remind myself that these are real atrocities and that my problems are like a grain of sand.

2. I have to improve my situation. I have a great circle of family and friends, of which I am very thankful for. But ultimately, I have to take control and make the changes myself.

3. I ran 3.5 miles this morning. When I get frustrated with those around me, I try to take a moment and breathe, and remember the kind of focus I have when I’m running. When I run, I push myself hard, but also keep in control, and that’s a great way to approach the other areas of my life.

I didn’t write this as a pity party. I have some real emotions churning around inside right now, and I’m trying to deal with them the best way I know how. Right now, the best way is to write about it. It’s comforting.

How do you deal with the frustrations brought about by the baffling actions of others?

Leave a Reply

