Clearing Spaces: The Bedroom

This past week, I went on a decluttering mission to catch up on projects I had started back in March. Well, this week was a success! I got a lot done, but the one area I didn’t get to was that side room.

But I’m not going to beat myself up over a failure, instead I’m going to celebrate the success.

Here’s the last cluttered spot in our bedroom:

Except for the table, none of those things needed to be there. I hated to put the boxes back in my closet (which was partially why my closet was empty), but it was better to get them back in than keep looking at them junking up the room.

Here’s after I put everything in it’s place, or sent it to the thrift store:

It looks much better, doesn’t it?

So that wasn’t a huge undertaking, but it still had to be done. The best part is that it was the final part of the bedroom that needed attention, so I have one whole room that is clutter-free!

4 thoughts on “Clearing Spaces: The Bedroom

    • Free Your Mind Today says:

      No, the old Mac SE went back to my closet. If I ever decide to part with it, I will probably try to sell it- they have a good collectors value now.

      I like it, it makes me happy, but it’s not very useful and in the way most of the time.

  1. Freedom | Rethinking the Dream says:

    Oh man, look at that old computer. The bedroom and closets were the first areas we tackled. They seem easier because there were less jointly owned things. My closet had my things, my drawers had my things, and the same went for my wife.

    You’re making great progress. The bedroom should be a place of tranquility, and yours looks much more peaceful without the clutter in the corner.

    • Free Your Mind Today says:

      Yes, that pile came out of my closet and I never went through it for months- it wasn’t as bad as other areas.

      I thought our bedroom was going to be the hardest, but it wasn’t too bad. What this picture hides, though, is shelving that sits about a foot from the ceiling that is FULL of books and other things. It’s going to take some time to go through all of those!

Leave a Reply

