Labels, who needs them?

What does it mean to be minimalist? Do I only have to blog three days a week and sell you an e-book?

Not quite, but it seems that way sometimes.

I’m trying to figure out what I want out of a minimalist lifestyle, while staying realistic.
I knew starting out that I wouldn’t just give away all of my things. I now understand the sentimental attachments to possessions, and I have donated or sold a lot of things.

I still have a long way to go before I would call my myself a minimalist, but is that even something I want? Do we clear out junk just to put another label on ourselves?

I don’t care for labels, but I guess it is unavoidable sometimes. You have to be identified somehow, and people have to have a lighthouse to look for when trying to find like-minded others.

I’m seeking out practical minimalism, and when I reach a point where I’m totally satisfied with the things I don’t have, that will just be the way I live.

I won’t have to say “oh, I’m a minimalist”. I’ll just be a person without a label.

* I do realize that I have to label this post as minimalism. Please give me a break.

5 thoughts on “Labels, who needs them?

  1. Mrs Simplicity says:

    I’ve been thinking along similar lines today. Whilst I love the idea of living with as little distraction in my life as possible I don’t think I would ever be classed as minimalist.

    The problem with giving labels is that they mean different things to different people. Minimalism to me conjures up a sleek, pared back lifestyle – and whilst I am cutting out as much distraction from my life as possible I wouldn’t class it as minimalistic. My friends however would and compared to their lives it maybe is.

    Sometimes life is hard to define 🙂

  2. Free Your Mind Today says:

    Well, I guess it’s good that there are many different voices out there promoting simpler living, in all of the different forms it may take.

    Yours is different than mine, but we’re not competing! If anyone gets anything from my blog, I hope they read my views and experience, and then read other blogs (like yours) and figure out where they want to be. 🙂

  3. joanna @ I Won't Be A Hoarder Too says:

    I enjoyed the last line :o)

    I am so incredibly sick of seeing ‘minimalists’ and ‘anti-consumerists’ telling people to spend less money, but only after they buy their e-book. Or the one that really drives me nuts is the guy who has the $24.99 per month minimalism subscription service. Talk about talking out of both sides of their mouths! Thanks for being a minimalism/anti-consumerism blogger who doesn’t do that.

    • Free Your Mind Today says:

      I totally agree with you Joanna. $24.99 sounds like an awful lot of money to learn to do without!

      I have no intention to compile or write an e-book on minimalism (or anything similar) to offer for sale. I’ll try to keep a good non-commercial message going. 🙂

Leave a Reply

