Being Humble

I think one of the best traits a person can have is to be humble.

By definition, being humble is to be: not proud or arrogant; modest: to be humble although successful.

I consider myself very successful in life, even if it doesn’t fit other’s views of what success is. Well, even what my views used to be.

I used to think your success was based on the financial stability you built in life, or the “nice” things you could buy with your “success”. But following this type of lifestyle will never fulfill you.

Why? Because there is always something else. You can buy, buy, buy all you want but it’s never going to change anyone’s long-term perception of you. Someone may compliment you on what you’re wearing, or your car, or the nice things in your home, but none of these things are true representations of you or your character.

So I consider myself successful. Why? Here’s a partial list:

1. I’m in good health.
2. I have many people who love and care about me, most importantly my wife & parents
3. All my basic needs are met and beyond
4. My job schedule is pretty normal, no odd hours
5. …which gives me more time to spend with my friends and family

There are plenty of other things I am thankful or am happy for. But I try to be as humble as I can, and work around the temptations to exceed the basic lifestyle I am trying to achieve.

What do you think about being humble? Is it important to you?

2 thoughts on “Being Humble

  1. joanna @ I won't be a hoarder too says:

    I think seeing the arrogant people who have been part of my life (and fortunately are mostly not part of my life) has been a great motivator to try to be more humble. Seeing what arrogance has turned them into is not something I want to be.

    I guess it’s like a quote from my favorite: “Honor is what you know about yourself. Reputation is what others know about you. Defend your honor; let your reputation fall where it will. And outlive the bastards.” In the end what we know about ourselves is really all that matters.

    Good post!

    • Free Your Mind Today says:

      What a great quote Joanna! Thank you for sharing that. I’m sure I’ll work that into a post somewhere and credit you.

      I believe living better means living lighter, and that includes not just our “stuff” we need to get by, but also our actions and attitudes to the world around us.

      I think arrogance must be pretty heavy to carry with you after awhile, you know?

Leave a Reply

