Declutter Your Clothes – Part 2

Yesterday I wrote how I got fed up with massive amount of clothing and decided to make my wardrobe minimalist as well.

My purge of clothing went surprisingly fast. I would just dump the clothes out of drawers and from the closet onto my bed and start sorting them into three piles:

1. Keep
2. Donate
3. Trash

I ended up keeping about half of my clothing:

• 3 white dress shirts
• 5 polo shirts
• 7 pairs of dress pants/khakis
• 5 pairs of jeans
• 5 pairs of shorts
• about 8 T-shirts
• 2 coats
• 1 suit

Overall, that’s still quite a bit of clothing! I also didn’t include my workout clothes or basics like underwear and socks.

What did I gain from all of this? Probably the best result of this purge was that I had let go of stuff that was holding me down. I had more clothing than I could realistically wear, and I was using a lot of my free time sorting, washing, storing and moving it.

Another benefit: having less clothing makes you think more carefully about what you do wear and buy in the future. I’m trying to follow the one-in, two-out rule, which means for each item of clothing I bring in, two have to go out the door.

 

5 thoughts on “Declutter Your Clothes – Part 2

  1. Mrs Simplicity says:

    Hi,
    I always feel better after a good purge of my wardrobe! I’ve still a long way to go but definitely have a lot less than this time last year. The problem that I find are that in the UK you have to be prepared for all kinds of weather, for instance yesterday was hot – t shirt and shorts weather yet today it’s jeans and waterproofs! Maybe I should just move somewhere nice and hot all year round then I would need a lot less clothes 🙂

    Great post and thanks for the mention!

    • Free Your Mind Today says:

      The weather where we live is pretty stable, hot in the summer and not too cold in winter. I’ll be just fine with one coat I think.

      One question- what are “waterproofs”? I’m assuming what we would call rainboots?

      • Mrs Simplicity says:

        I would love a little more stability with the weather here, it makes it hard to plan anything.

        By waterproofs I mean waterproof coats, we call our rainboots wellies!

Leave a Reply

