Decluttering Your Wardrobe (Part 1)

How many clothes do you have? How many do you need? How many shoes do you need?
And my favorite question… How often do you do laundry, and how long does it take?

If you’re trying to cut down on the amount of clothing you have, these are essential questions to ask yourself. I’ll admit that I used to own way too many clothes, and I had a particular fondness for jackets and shoes (yes, men can have too many shoes).

Back when I had zero bills, a great paying summer job, and disposable income (what a ridiculous term!), I would buy whatever clothes I wanted and most everything I bought was on-sale or clearance. I’d buy shoes that were a little too large or small simply because they were on clearance and I wanted some new shoes.

My collection of outerwear had a similar backstory; at one point I think I owned 10 different coats. That may not sound too crazy, but consider that I live in an area where it snows once every five years, if that, and the winter temperatures rarely dip below 32 degrees F (0 Celcius). So I only needed one or two coats, but not 10!

As I got older, these problems only got worse as I gained more and more clothing. I gave away clothing to thrift stores over the years, but I still kept an incredible amount of clothes that just didn’t wear or didn’t fit anymore.

Why did I keep them?

I have no idea. I have no clue why I was keeping clothes that didn’t fit, were worn out, or I just didn’t like anymore. I don’t know why I was putting them into storage bins, and hauling these heavy bins filled with clothes from house to house as I moved. I don’t know why I was keeping these clothes stored away. I didn’t wear them!

What I was actually doing was:

1. Keeping things I didn’t use (clutter)
2. Storing and organizing things I didn’t use
3. Moving heavy bins filled with things I didn’t use

When you look at it this way, it really seems ridiculous to keep doing the same things, doesn’t it?

When I decided I wanted to be as minimalist as I practically could, I knew that clearing out my clothes had to be done. I knew that I could still dress nicely with not a lot of clothes, and also by not spending very much money.

One Saturday, I dumped all my clothes out onto the bed and started going through the piles. Some clothes were easy to get rid of and others required some heavier decisions.

Next post (June 26th) I will detail what I kept and why.

3 thoughts on “Decluttering Your Wardrobe (Part 1)

  1. xhin says:

    What a coincidence! This weekend, I’m in this “clear-your-closet” operation where I’m planning to give the clothes that weren’t “fit” to me plus those that aren’t usable at all. I guess we both have the same problem.

    The process is quite tedious though.

    • Free Your Mind Today says:

      Hi xhin – many people out there have our problem, so don’t ever feel alone!

      The process can be tedious, but my advice is to do small chunks at a time and stop for a while if you get too discouraged. Paring down your clothes or items is supposed to be a good thing, so don’t let the process of getting rid of them ruin your day.

Leave a Reply

